Two schools top Minnesota’s 2022 National Merit Scholars list

High school students across Minnesota collectively won more than 100 National Merit Scholarships in 2022. Two suburban schools produced a significant number of recipients this year.

Wayzata High in Plymouth has produced the highest number of recipients at 15. Ten winners attend Mounds View High in Arden Hills.

Several other schools in the metropolitan area have also produced a handful of recipients.

Edina and Minnetonka High Schools have won seven and six winners, respectively, and five winners attend Blake School in Minneapolis.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced the 2022 winners in four batches. The organization announced 15 winners from Minnesota in late April and another 45 in mid-May.

Sixty-six winners were announced on June 1 and another batch on June 11. The National Merit Scholarship Program did not provide the latest batch at press time.

The organization honors students based on standardized test scores and academic achievement. Minnesota students who scored a 218 or higher on the PSAT in 2020 qualified for this year’s awards.

Applicants then submitted a scholarship application that included an essay, a list of extracurricular activities, and an endorsement from a teacher or administrator. They also had to maintain consistently high academic performance and achieve an SAT or ACT score equal to their PSAT.

The National Merit Program estimates that approximately 16,000 students qualified for this year’s awards based on their 2020 PSAT scores, representing less than 1% of high school students nationwide.

The organization released its list of 2,022 recipients in four batches.

The April announcement included business-backed winners. These recipients received either annual stipends ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 per year or one-time payments of $2,500 to $5,000.

In May, the organization announced its list of 2,500 Merit Scholars, including 45 from Minnesota. Each recipient received $2,500.

The June winners were sponsored by the colleges and universities they plan to attend. These students will receive between $500 and $2,000 per year for a maximum of four years.

The 66 winners announced so far in June are:

Academy of Sciences and Agriculture

Errol Mickelson

Andover Top

Conor Jolly

Blake School

Leon Xue
Lilian Liu

Cambridge Christian School

Ciara Morlock

High century

Yang Huang

Champlin Park High School

Claire Coch

High Chaska

Alex McKeever
Reilly Melville

Eagan High

Arian Hegenbarth
Nina Mirfakhraie

Elevated from Eastview

Isaiah Daizell
Maria Laya Galindez
Cameron Ojala

Eden Prairie High

Amoliga Timma

Edina High

Jack Herzer
Jack McIntyre

Fourth Baptist Christian School

Emily Combs

Christian Heritage Academy

Elijah Koopman
Matthew Stella

Highland Park High

Finn Zwank

home school

Brooklyn Cooper, Delano
Linae Larson, Richfield

Upper Irondale

Elizabeth VanLoon

John F. Kennedy High School

isaac stein

John Marshall High School (Rochester)

Radhika Damie

Academy of Mathematics and Science

Chloe Nelson

High Mayo

Tanmay Iyer

Minnetonka Raised

Stanley Win
Aida Lengling
Luke Patefield
Sophie Pederson
Katherine Young

View of the mounds from above

Connor Chervany
Cameron Dolbow
Austin Gin
Chandan Sankar
Claire Stellack

North High (St. Paul)

Lucas Haindfield

Orono Top

Angelo Fiaturolo

Park Christian School

Nathan Krause

high park

Alexandre Vanasse

Raised Roosevelt

Will Janzen

Raised in the Roseville area

Alicia Hooper

Southwest High

Luc Legrand

High spectrum

Ella Sontowski

Saint-Louis Park High School

Daniel Shop

St. Michael-Albertville High School

Sara DeMattels

St. Paul Academy and Summit School

Mary Schumacher

St. Thomas Academy

Padon Kinzley

Tracy High

Kaylee Campbell

Trinity School at River Ridge

Daniel Nykamp
Zachary Martin

Twin Cities Academy

Michele Marcelle

Two high rivers

Oscar Halverson

Washburn high

Julia Angerman

Wayzata Top

Grace Bergeron
Saryu Goduchinta
Amelie Jacobson
Achyuta Kandalam
Ellen Lorentz
Nithya Malisetti
Nathan Moon
Alec Olson
Avi Punjabi

This post will be updated.

Comments are closed.